Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Home|Legal|Privacy Policy|Copyright

​​​​Charter for the Multimodal Task Force


The Standing Committee on Planning (SCOP), Subcommittee on Policy wishes to establish a Task Force on multimodal transportation planning and policy to support a balanced transportation system that provides mode options for the diverse needs of all surface transportation system users. 


  • Provide a forum for communications, guidance, and resources focused on planning, policy, and performance management for multimodal issues.
  • Support balanced representation of all surface transportation modes in transportation planning and policy.
  • Support connectivity, mobility, accessibility, and safety for all surface transportation modes.
  • Support coordination between existing AASHTO committees related to surface transportation modes and identify opportunities to improve consideration of multimodal issues in AASHTO activities and federal policy.  
  • Support the furtherance of multimodal policies established in MAP-21 and the FAST Act.
  • Provide guidance and comments on Notices of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRMs) related to multimodal transportation from US DOT.
  • Provide recommendations and modal policies, as necessary, to the SCOP, Subcommittee on Policy to ensure full consideration of all surface transportation modes in planning, policy, and performance measurement. 


  • Steering Committee
    • Toks Omishakin – Tennessee DOT (Chair)
    • Amy Scarton – Washington State DOT (Co-Chair)
    • Jerri Bohard - Oregon DOT
    • Nick Donohue - Virginia DOT
    • Billy Hattaway - Florida DOT
    • Sam Zimbabwe - District of Columbia DOT
    • Sharon Edgar - Michigan DOT and Standing Committee on Public Transportation
    • Shannon Eggleston - Standing Committee on Environment
    • Scott Woodrum - Virginia DOT and Technical Committee for Non-Motorized Transportation
    • Barbara McCann - USDOT



MMTF newsletter 11.2016.pdf ​


Next Meeting (Telephone Conference)

The next MMTF Meeting will be held on March 8, 2017 from 3-4pm eastern time.  Thirty minutes of our next task force meeting will be reserved for a webinar featuring Mr. Nick Donohue, the Deputy Secretary of Transportation for the Commonwealth of Virginia.  He will be discussing Virginia's Smart Scale tool.  As explained on their website, "Virginia’s Smart Scale is about picking the right transportation projects for funding and ensuring the best use of limited tax dollars. It is the method of scoring planned projects included in VTrans that are funded by HB 1887. Transportation projects are scored based on an objective, outcome-based process that is transparent to the public and allows decision-makers to be held accountable to taxpayers. Once projects are scored and prioritized, the Commonwealth Transportation Board (CTB) has the best information possible to select the right projects for funding."  More information on Smart Scale can be found at:  

As Deputy Secretary, Mr. Donohue leads the Commonwealth's SmartScale transportation prioritization process and the development of VTrans, the long-range transportation plan. In addition he serves as the Director of the Office of Intermodal Planning and Investment, which encourages the coordination of multimodal and intermodal planning across the various transportation modes within the Commonwealth. Mr. Donohue served previously as Policy and Legislative Director for Transportation for America, an alliance of private and public sector leaders dedicated to promoting local transportation solutions. Before that he served as Assistant Secretary of Transportation and Special Assistant to the Secretary of Transportation in the administration of Governor Tim Kaine. In this role, Mr. Donohue was responsible for legislative and regulatory affairs for the seven agencies in the Transportation Secretariat. He also directed the implementation of the transportation and land-use program for the Secretariat. Mr. Donohue holds degrees in Urban Studies and Geography, and Political Science from Virginia Commonwealth University

Please register for Multimodal Surface Transportation Task Force on Mar 8, 2017 3:00 PM EST at:



Meeting Summaries 

MMTF Meeting Summary - San Antonio 6.23.16.pdf

MMTF Meeting Summary - 9.7.16.pdf

MMTF Meeting Summary - 1.4.2017.pdf


AASHTO Annual Meeting in Boston - November 2016

MMTF Meeting 11/13/2016

MMTF 11.2016 Summary.pdf

Providing Multimodal Transportation Options within an Existing Footprint 11/14/16

Charles Zelle, Commissioner - Minnesota DOT.pdf

Joseph Barr, Board of Directors - NACTO.pdf

Roger Millar, Secretary - Washington State DOT.pdf

Toks Omishakin, Deputy Commissioner - Tennessee DOT.pdf